Straight Talk on Project Management

Curling Championship 2022

Share this post


RSS feed

World Mixed Curling Championship 2022 – Stoneseed’s Andrew Tanner is competing for Wales !

This week Stoneseed’s Andrew Tanner is competing at the World Mixed Curling Championships for Wales. 15 October – 22 October 2022 in Aberdeen, Scotland

The Welsh Team  – World Curling Federation

3 : Dawn WATSON (Vice-Skip)
2 : Andrew TANNER
1 : Judith GLAZIER


The World Mixed Curling Championship is an open entry event, for the World Curling Federation’s 69 Member Associations.

Aberdeen, Scotland will host the first event of the 2022–2023 World Curling season, the World Mixed Curling Championship.

35 teams will play for the world mixed curling champions title from 15–22 October in Curl Aberdeen, a state of the art six-sheet curling facility situated to the west of Aberdeen.

This will be the sixth edition of the championship, the last being held in 2019 at the same venue. Three years ago, Canada was crowned world champions after defeating Germany in the final. Norway earned the bronze medals.

Participating teams

The participating teams are divided into four groups.

Group A: Canada, Denmark, Finland, Hong Kong, India, Korea, New Zealand, Portugal and Slovenia

Group B: Croatia, Spain, Estonia, Germany, Italy, Netherlands, United States and Wales

Group C: Australia, Austria, England, Hungary, Luxemburg, Mexico, Scotland, Switzerland and Slovakia

Group D: Czech Republic, Ireland, Japan, Latvia, Nigeria, Norway, Sweden, Chinese Taipei and Ukraine.

Game Rules: Teams are mixed gender, consisting of two female and two male athletes. Mixed curling is played following the same rules as ‘traditional’ curling with the exception that games will be played up to a maximum of eight ends, delivery rotation alternates between each gender and the skip and vice-skip must be from the opposite gender. Teams do not have alternates in the mixed curling discipline.

Good Luck Andrew! We are all rooting for you here at Stoneseed!!

 You can follow the action (team Wales) here: